Reading Material

11-3-2023: Rhythm Heaven Cameos in the new Warioware.

WHOOOOAAAAA HI EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!! It sure has been a while, huh? Well, its November 3rd, 2023, and “Warioware Move it!” has just came out. This one should be a short one, because I’m not here to talk about the actual game or anything, I’m here to talk about, of course, the Rhythm Heaven references in the game! Now, I could just talk about all of the references in the series, but those have already been talked about to death. Besides, I’m just really excited about this. ^_^

Also, I do not own a copy of “Warioware Move It!” at the moment, so most of this is comes from gameplay uploaded online and information from the wiki.

Also, just to let you know, this post will contain HUGE SPOILERS FOR WARIOWARE MOVE IT!!!! PROCEED IF YOU DARE!!!!!!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Alright, let’s just get this out of the way. First reference we’ll be talking about is in the cut scene for Dribble and Spitz’ stage, where the Barista, Reporter and Wrestler can be seen in the background. Obviously this is to be expected. These three have made appearances in the Warioware series before, even in the previous entry of “Warioware Get it Together!”.

Image taken from Zephial810’s video of all the cutscenes.

And now, the one I myself am particularly excited about, the appearance of Cicada!! Who’s Cicada? Well you’ve seen her before if you’ve played Rhythm Heaven Fever.

← THAT’S Cicada! Yes, that’s right! She’s the girl from Kung Fu Ball in Rhythm Heaven Fever! She’s been a part of the Warioware lore since her debut in RHF, where she is shown training with Young Cricket. After that, she appeared again in Warioware Get it Together. However, This is quite big news, because she now has a name!

This is HUGE!!!! Not a lot of Rhythm Heaven characters have names, so this is awesome to see!!

Anyways that’s it! Yes, seriously. I told you this would be a short one. I wish I had the new Warioware game! Its like 50 USD though -_- I think I might do some new updates to this site, I’ve suddenly regain a bit of interest in Rhythm Heaven. I havent been that interested in it for a while because I suddenly got obsessed with my own original characters and stories. I think I might make a shrine for you-know-who (if you don’t check the fav character section of the favorites page). Anyways, thats all for now! Til next time!!

More Websites!?

2-20-2023

Hey everyone! I'm back! I'm here to talk about more Rhythm Heaven websites! let's first talk about the North American Rhythm Heaven website that was madefor the DS game. You may have noticed I didn't put this site on the links page, despite it being saved on the Wayback Machine. That's because the site unfortunately does not work. It seems to have ran almost entirely on Flash player. Thankflly, I managed to find some screenshots online of the site! My sources include Long Tran on Behance and Peter Michaud on Cargocollective. I'm pretty sure Pete Michaud helped with making the website after looking at his other works on the site. I'm not entirely sure on Long Tran, though. Anyways, all I can do is thank them for their screenshots.

Here we see the splash page. I love how the splash page resembles the title screen for the game! So cute! :D

There is of course a how to play section, previews of some minigames, as well the famous Beyonce commericals! (Yes, this is real.)

The site also had the Rhythm Heaven Visualizer. It was a program that took audio files and put together a bunch of Rhythm Heaven characters dancing to the beat! How fun! It was lost media for a long time after the website was taken down in 2016, but thankfully was rediscovered and uploaded onto the Internet Archive in 2020. Linked is a video by EpicHaxGuy of this visualizer in action, using the first 15 minutes of the Fitness Gram Pacer Test.

We're still not done! You may have also noticed a new link in the links page. As the link name says, it's a website make to promote the Sega arcade cabinet. I haven't seen anyone talk about this site before!

similar to the GBA website, but this has more details to look at! The updates box is very cute, and I really like the background they used! When first making this site I wanted to have a background EXACTLY like this one! The current plain yellow one is actually a placeholder for now, so seeing this has inspired me to draw one for Gold Remix. On top there is the navigation on the site. You may notice the greyed out button in the top center. It seems to be for something called "Character Photobook", but unfortunately this was never made. I assume it would've been like the character profiles page on the GBA website.

Next is the extras page. Here, we get to see the promotional material made for Rhythm Tengoku that was only available in UFO catchers/claw machines. Man, I would kill one for these! (Hahaha...jk...O_o;) Turns out the hairs on the vegetable plushes are pullable! Just like in game!

Finally, we have the movie page! Here, we can watch what seems to be a trailer for the arcade machine! Let's we go!

Uhhhh.....

Yeah...Unfortunately, this video doesn't work. Even if you use a Flash player and view it on a browser that still supports Flash, the Wayback Machine doesn't seem to have to code for the Flash video. Bummer :[

Well, that's it for today! See you later everyone!

Rhythm Heaven's websites!

1-23-2023

I've posted this before on my Twitter, but since I don't use it anymore and the fact that Twitter isn't the best place to store information, I will be posting this stuff here.

Let's talk about the official Rhythm Tengoku website! It's a pretty normal site.

However, there is some things on this site that I haven't seen anyone else talk about. Some stuff on the website is flash content! Thankfully, there are browsers online that still support the use of Flash such as Waterfox, which is what I used for this. Let's start off with the personality quiz. There's a personality quiz on the site that says what kind of person you are. At least, that's what I think? It's in Japanese, obviously, and I can't read Japanese. I had to use Google Translate, which, as you will later see, isn't the best (though thats just a fact).

The quiz is hosted by multiple characters (but for some reason NOT Q Maou). It gives random questions which gets you different results everytime. The questions are surprisingly normal and don't really have much to do with rhythm. Below is the quiz, as well as some results.

Another thing I found was in the sections for news and updates. It has things that people already know: The soundtrack CD and the UFO catcher plushies. However, there's also a QR for a couple of Rhythm Heaven wallpapers! I'm not sure what device these were for. Hell, I may even be wrong about these being wallpapers! Sadly, scanning the QR code doesn't work, so I'm not sure how to get these. I think these are really cool, as I think this is the only time Cosmic Girl is shown without her hat!

Back to Flash, there are some demos on the site for the minigames! These demos aren't playable, though. They're just short gameplay videos. I'm kind of disappointed as it would've been fun to play Karate Man in browser!

Finally, lets talk about the Rhythm Heaven Megamix Japanese website! There's not much to see here, except for another quiz!!!! Q Maou must be so happy right now. It's another personality test, except here they give you a game to play based on what kind of person you are. In case you're curious, I got Clappy Trio! <( ̄︶ ̄)>

That's all for now! Goodbye and see you later!

Edit (2-6-2023): I just found out that the Rhythm Tengoku wallpapers are from Nintendo Mobile, a discontinued service that used i-Mode technology. Unfortunately, the service is discontinued and information is scarce. Thank you to beesnutz on Tumblr for telling me about i-Mode!